How to Turn FaceTime Off

Once in a while, a well-publicized bug so thoroughly shakes the public’s confidence that even after it’s fixed, users are wary of a product. That’s precisely the case with FaceTime, which prompted security concerns early in 2019. If you’re still a little uncomfortable with the app, here’s how you can make sure it’s disabled on your devices. 

The Glitch Heard Round The World

At the beginning of the year, it was discovered that FaceTime could be used to spy on Apple users, even if they didn’t accept the call. The bug was tested and verified many times, and Apple promptly attended to it, first by disabling group calls within the app, and then with an update that mitigated the issue. 

Still, users were (and are) shaken by the revelation that they could be so easily spied on. If you’re like many Apple consumers, you’re still not keen on FaceTime—that’s okay, because disabling the app will only take you a few seconds. 

Guarding Your Privacy

If you’re looking to disable FaceTime on your iPhone or iPad, simply go to your settings, scroll through your apps until you find FaceTime, click on it and press the toggle to disable. 

If you’d like to disable FaceTime on your computer as well for good measure, open the app on your Mac, open your preferences within the app, and uncheck the box that says “enable this account.” 

Though Apple released an update that fixed the FaceTime bug quickly after it was discovered, it’s better to be safe than sorry in this world of nearly continuous hacking. Follow these easy steps to rest a little easier knowing that no one is listening in on your day without your consent.